BJP election failure BJP untruths On the Record Rajeev Gowda

Sheepish BJP ends introspection


As we wonder what went wrong for the Congress in Karnataka, given the party’s resounding success elsewhere, here are some fascinating insights about the Karnataka BJP’s election strategy from a news report in the Deccan Herald.

Anyone wants to refer this news item to the Election Commission for suo moto action?

Top brass embarrassed by inputs from several leaders on why party lost seats in LS elections Sheepish BJP ends introspection

DH News Service, Bangalore: Friday, May 22, 2009, 1:00 [IST]

The forum was to introspect as to why some BJP nominees were defeated in the LS elections in the State

But the inputs from some BJP leaders was so embarrassing for the party leaders, including the CM, that they had to wind up the session.

But the inputs from some BJP leaders was so embarrassing for the party leaders, including the CM, that they had to wind up the session.

The first constituency came up for discussion at the BJP LP meeting was Gulbarga from where Mallikarjun Kharge of the Congress defeated Minister Revu Naik Belamagi.

BJP RS member K B Shanappa reportedly alleged that Belamagi could not win because he wanted to thank his ‘political guru’ Kharge by facilitating him to win.

He also pointed out that the minister failed to get an impressive lead even in his home constituency Gulbarga Rural. When the candidate himself was disinterested, then it was difficult for the party to work, Shanappa said.

Yeddyurappa, D V Sadananda Gowda and Ananth Kumar, besides Venkaiah Naidu were present on the dais.

Disputing Shanappa, Belamagi told the leaders that in his constituency that his community votes (Banjara) was divided among four candidates. In addition, the party did not work in two constituencies including Chittapur, he alleged.

At this point, the CM reportedly told the Minister not to argue because he had failed to do well in his own constituency.

Allegations galore

Later it was the turn of D S Veeraiah, who was humbled by Congress MP K H Muniyappa in Kolar reserved constituency.

Veeraiah is said to have lodged a series of complaints against MinisterKrishnaiah Setty, who is Kolar district in-charge. He is also MLA from Malur.

The aggrieved Veeraiah gave his complaint in writing in a sealed envelope, to the leaders.

Veeraiah alleged that he lost the battle mainly because Setty did not work. This was obvious from the fact that in Malur he secured hardly 13,000 lead over the Congress while Setty’s victory margin was 53,000 votes in the last assembly polls.

He also alleged that Setty failed to keep up his promise to deposit Rs 5,000 to each Stree Shakti group, distribute 50,000 nose rings and one lakh sarees. Setty and others wanted Muniyappa to retain the seat, Veeraiah alleged.

Defending himself, Setty told the meeting that he had sent 100 cars to Veeraiah. But in Malur upper caste people did not vote for the BJP because the candidate had threatened to file atrocity cases against those who were harassing SC/ST, if he becomes MP.
Ananth Kumar, who glanced through the complaint, told Veeraiah that if the complaint reaches the EC then he could land in trouble. Later Veeraiah withdrew the complaint letter, it is said.

Intervening at this point, the CM put an end to the discussion saying that there would be no more post-poll analysis as an enquiry committee would visit constituencies where the party lost the battle.

Study team to analyse performance

The State BJP on Thursday decided to constitute study committees to analyse the cause of defeat of its candidates in nine constituencies in the Lok Sabha polls.

A decision to this effect was taken at the legislature party meeting held in Bangalore on Thursday.

The meeting witnessed the party top brass including Chief Minister B S Yeddyurappa, State party president D V Sadananda Gowda, party national office bearers Arun Jaitley and Venkaiah Naidu discussing the outcome of the just concluded polls and the political scene ahead.

The BJP won 19 of the 28 seats in the State. It lost in nine constituencies – Bidar, Gulbarga, Hassan, Mandya, Mysore, Bangalore Rural, Chamarajnagar, Chikmagalur and Kolar.

Speaking at the meeting, Sadananda Gowda said the party’s defeat especially in Chamarajnagar, Kolar and Mysore had come as a surprise and would be analysed minutely.

Several legislators who had secured good lead for the BJP candidate in their assembly segment are said to have showcased their achievement at the meeting obviously in anticipation of plum nomination to boards and corporations.

The CM told his partymen to ensure the various programmes of the government reach the people. He told them to gear up for the assembly by- polls to be held in five constituencies, the forthcoming BBMP elections, and elections to cooperative institutions.

The article here.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: